top of page

The Power of Professors

Written by Tonicia Williams

In high school, teachers try to scare you into believing that you’re completely on your own in college. They tell you that the professors don’t care about you, that you’re just a number to them. I’ve found all of that to be a complete lie at Chapman. The professors that I‘ve encountered have been nothing short of amazing.


The key thing to remember is that yes, professors do have many students, but they want to get to know you. They want to help you as much as you want help. I think one of the ways to make your college life easier is to interact with the professor, both inside and outside of class. If you need help don’t be afraid to shoot them an email or stop to talk after class. I’ve found that all my professors at Chapman have been more than willing to help. Sometimes all they want to do is hang out and talk. Putting in the effort really makes a difference.


I had one professor in particular, my Psychology professor, who was a tremendous help. When I decided I wanted to study to become a psychologist she helped to get me in contact with the head of the Psychology department, the head of the student counselling services, and other professionals who were able to help me pursue my goals. She gave me advice about what branch of psychology I might want to study and so much more useful information. This is just one of the ways that a professor has helped me, both in the classroom and out.


It is true that you have a greater responsibility in college but that in no way means that you’re on your own. Professors are there to help. Trust me, they want to see you succeed. Bridging that gap between student and professor can make a world of a difference and the Chapman community makes that so much easier.


-Tonicia Williams

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page