top of page

The Best Way to a Good Start

 By Adam Ginell, Senior, Digital Arts Major, Audio Technology for Film and Music Minor

When I first started my college journey at Chapman, I never really knew that my overall takeaway would be filled with more than just the skills I learned in my digital arts major. I started off at Chapman with the goal of learning all the skills needed to become a computer animator working in the film industry. I created a minor in post-production music and sound and figured that I was well on my way to having a successful career. What I didn’t know at the time was that my involvements all over campus would define who I am even more than my academics. I became involved with a fraternity during my first semester of college, I joined various clubs and organizations, and I went to as many on-campus events as possible during my first few semesters because I figured that I might as well take advantage of all the free programs, and definitely the free food, that Chapman was offering to us. During orientation, take advantage of all the events going on because you will have so many opportunities to interact with others and make friends that you will have for the rest of your life. Whether it is a session during orientation, a movie screening on campus, or any type of event with free food, definitely attend them all because you never know what type of connections you will make that could have an impact on your entire college career. Being a first semester freshman and surrounded by people I didn’t know, I knew that the best way to make new friends and get the most out of my college experience was to make sure I didn’t pass up on any opportunities that came my way. Even though I am a film major and not constantly studying for tests, I am always working on projects and learning the skills I need to succeed in my field of study. When I’m not at Dodge, however, I am on campus taking advantage of as much as I can.


Every time I am home from school, I am always talking about the happenings going on at Chapman. I have a job working the front desk at Dodge College and all I do is talk to people either on the phone or during tours of the school about how amazing Chapman has been for me. Even though I felt the nerves of being in a new school and environment, the most important thing that I realized was that all the other freshmen I was surrounded by were feeling the same exact things. I went out of my way to meet new people and would even walk up to random new students in the caf and say hi to them because that’s what you can do as a freshman! You make friends at Chapman by just being yourself and going out of your comfort zone to show people that you are someone worth getting to know. With all the opportunities that have allowed me to talk up Chapman, I knew that becoming an orientation leader would be the perfect way to continue sharing my love for this school with those just getting their feet in the water.


All I’ve ever done at Chapman has been to pursue the things I am passionate about and to continue learning as much as possible because I never really know where I will end up in the future. Looking back on my past three years at Chapman, I am going to continue this mindset because I know that Chapman has the resources to make my future as rewarding as possible. As a new student, I think the most important thing to understand about Chapman is that everyone at this school is here to help you. Whether it is the administration, the faculty, or your fellow students, everyone is always looking out for each other because we all want to see each other succeed. Never be afraid to pursue the things that are important to you. Don’t be afraid to try new things or to avoid things that may not seem as popular to other people. Do what’s best for you and start your college experience off in a way that will make you look back on your four years here with pride at all that you have achieved. Heading into my senior year at Chapman, I am going to continue living the same life I’ve lived the last three years. I will continue to stay as involved as possible because knowing that I made the most of what college has to offer will make the transition into the working world that much easier when it arrives.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page