top of page

Open the Gates

Written by Gabriella Corsino; Double Major in Political Science and Psychology '21

Hey future Panthers! This post is for those of you who are entering Chapman as a transfer student.

Congrats on being so close to finally finding your new home! I know the journey took a bit longer to get here but I am confident that everything happens for a reason. I as well transferred to Chapman at the start of my sophomore year after previously attending a conservatory for my first semester of college, a university second semester and a community college the following summer. By the time I came to Chapman I was emotionally drained from changing my environment more often than I changed my hair color. I subconsciously dreaded the idea of having to reintroduce myself to a whole new community of people for the fourth time. This dreading stemmed from broken trust after the friends I made at my previous schools failed to keep in touch. I let lingering emotions from my past formulate a guard that I put up upon first entering Chapman, yet there was no need for this. First off, I knew this University was the perfect fit for me so I wasn’t going to be leaving anytime soon.


Secondly, my guard only prohibited possible connections with the amazing people right in front of me. Who knows how many more connections I could have made if my guard wasn’t up. Introducing yourself to as many people as possible increases the number of long term friendships made from the beginning of your time at Chapman. It should be expected that not everyone you first meet at Chapman is going to be someone you will mesh with. It is impossible to truly know anyone at first glance. We may make judgements as to their character but it can only be tested through action and that is something that shows overtime. So, unlock the gates but buckle up because if you choose to throw yourself into this wonderful community then you’re in for a wild ride.


In order for a place to feel like home there must be love. Love is a two way streak, in order to feel love from Chapman you must put love back into the community. Now unless you’re on The Bachelorette, love doesn’t happen overnight, but with a bit of patience I am confident you will love and be loved by Chapman just as I have experienced.

51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page