top of page

Lessons Learned From 41 Years of College

By Professor Veston Rowe, Dodge College of Film and Media Arts, School of Communication; Department of English


I went to college 41 years ago, and never left.


Despite my longevity with higher education, my introduction to it was less than stellar.

I attended a small private university, Phillips University, in my hometown of Enid, Oklahoma (the cultural center of the universe). Because I was a local, I lived at home with my family and made the mile-and-a-half commute each day to campus.


I made two mistakes my freshman year. But I learned from those mistakes.


First, I took an 8 a.m. American history class. And second, I didn’t get involved on campus.

If you’re not a morning person, don’t take an 8 a.m. class. Forty-one years later, I am a morning person and I teach 8:30 a.m. classes Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. I shame the late and berate the absent.


I didn’t get involved during my freshman year because I planned to transfer to a larger university. I was just using Phillips for its travel abroad program to Sweden, in which I intended to partake my sophomore year. Once I did that, I would transfer. Why get involved when my stay would be short.


Because I missed out. (And I’m not talking about parties). I didn’t join a club. I didn’t hangout on campus. (My classes were back to back, so I went, I took notes, I went home.) I finally got involved during my junior and senior years and learned and grew.


Here are a few other guidelines for college.


If the teacher says read the textbook, read the textbook. During my freshman year, I took The Role of Mass Media in Society. My professor was—I’m not sure how to say this tactfully—bad. A funny dude who was undoubtedly stoned every day, he never really went over the text in class. So, I didn’t really bother reading it. I took an A into the final, which as luck would have it was over the textbook. I made a B in the class.


Pick your major. Don’t let your parents, family or friends force you into one. Challenge yourself, though. Don’t take a major because you think it’s easy.


Ask questions. But make sure they’re intelligent questions. I know your elementary school teacher told you there are no bad questions. He was wrong. There are. Be prepared. By the way, you’re not snowflakes and there are no participation trophies.


Listen. Listen. Listen. And read the syllabus. For some faculty, the syllabus is more fluid than for others. Figure out whom you have.


Be open to failing. I don’t mean give up and get an F. I mean, challenge yourself.

If you’re avoiding the math requirement, take it now. If you’re bad at grammar, get better at it.


All work and no play makes Jack and Jill dull. Enjoy life. Don’t spend every night in the library. By the same token don’t spend every night at the District or O’s.

Moderation in all things, except my classes.


Step outside your comfort zone. I did eventually travel to Sweden. It was a life-changing experience (cliché, but true). I had only been on a plane once before and had spent maybe three nights away from home.


If you do travel abroad, don’t be a tourist. Immerse yourself in the culture. And be a good ambassador for Chapman and the USA.


Call your parents, but for goodness sake don’t have your parents call your professors.Or email them or text them. Take care of your business. You’re an adult now.


Breathe. One of my professors at Phillips said that the two biggest problems college students faced were constipation and loneliness. So, eat more vegetables and fiber, and meet people. If you see someone sitting alone, invite him/her to sit with you.

It could be the start of a beautiful friendship.


Eleven years after college, my best friend from Phillips came to work for me at Chapman University, eventually serving as assistant dean of the film school before returning to Oklahoma to work as a geologist. We still talk. Another friend from high school and college brought me to Chapman to work for her in the admission office. They call it networking now. Back in my day, we called it friendship.


Don’t be afraid of your professors. They are people, too. We like students. (This is a sweeping generality, but I think for most of us, it holds true).

I once let a student use my car when he took his driver’s test. I went with him. Three times. To the DMV. Three times.


When one of my student’s bicycle was stolen. I gave her my old one.


I invite students to my home often; they must like dogs, though. We want to see you succeed at Chapman and in life.


College is not as big and scary as it might seem at first glance. For most of you, the four years will fly by quickly. And you’ll be off into the real world.


I prefer to stay in college.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page