top of page

How to Choose Your Major Just in Time for Senior Year

By Annie Newman, Senior, Integrated Educational Studies Major, Psychology Minor


I can’t tell you how much my dreams have changed since coming to Chapman. Through a long process of being so uncertain about my future and testing out major after major, my college career has been anything but a straight path to graduation. Originally, I looked at the school for their incredible dance program. I had been dancing since I was three and there had never been a question in my mind that dance is what I wanted to do with my life. Then, in the summer before I attended Chapman, I had what I suppose would be a mini crisis. I suddenly doubted all of those visions of dancing and decided to try communications*. Shortly into my freshman year, I changed my mind once again. I had taken one communications class and just wasn’t feeling it. During that year’s interterm (an optional mini semester in January), I took an Integrated Educational Studies (IES) class that I ended up LOVING. I had never planned on teaching, but I changed my major immediately because it just felt right.


Then came the next change of plans in my sophomore year. I had a radical desire to go to medical school since I’ve always been passionate about health. I started taking chemistry classes and finding that I was a lot better at it than I expected, but I did not enjoy it. I couldn’t see myself in a lab for as many hours as were required for the next three years.


Cue crisis number two. Here I was again, now a junior in college, and still not sure what I wanted to do with my major, let alone my life. Finally, in the spring of my junior year, I had a realization. I had changed my mind about the dance major because I wanted a future working with people instead of performing, I had chosen communications because it had to do with people, I had thought I’d like to be a doctor because I wanted to help people, and I had loved my education class because it was all about influencing people. When this clicked, I knew exactly what to do; I kept my IES major, declared a psych minor, and am now on track to get my marriage and family therapy license after I graduate.


I love what I’m learning and feel so confident in my choice, but what a whirlwind it was to get here! It has been an incredible journey of discovering myself; my strengths, my weaknesses, and my passions. College is the perfect time to do that. Although I admire people who truly find their passion at three years old and stick to that path (like I thought I would), I wouldn’t trade the crazy lessons that came from not knowing and exploring over the last four years. Really, finding my major was more about finding myself.


All of this long saga is to say, enjoy the journey, let go of expectations of what you are “supposed to do,” what you think you’re good at, what you could never do, or the idea that it is ever too late to start on a new path and follow a new dream.


It was crazy feeling like I was so behind the rest of my peers, assuming they had it all figured out. So, to incoming students who are already worried about what major to choose or whether they made the right decision, take a deep breath and take your time! You are not alone in feeling a little lost sometimes. And for incoming students who feel confident in their choice of what to study, I encourage you to take a class completely out of your comfort zone and give yourself the opportunity to find out more about yourself. You may not change your major, but you could surprise yourself at what you’ll discover. You’ve got this, y’all!


* Please note that I think all of the majors I tested out are wonderful and if they are totally your thing, rock it! *

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page