top of page

First-Generation Student Success

Written by Karmen Pantoja, Charlene Chai, and Wendy Medina Herrera

Please read these three student perspectives below:


Karmen Pantoja, Class of '21

As an introvert first-generation student from New York, I was very unaware of what college meant. I did not know anyone that was attending Chapman, nor was I the best at being outgoing. However, the first thing  I learned at Chapman was growth comes from pushing yourself outside your comfort zone. From my first interaction at Chapman, everyone was very welcoming and truly helped me in my transition. The best advice I had gotten from my high school teacher was to get involved and try everything! I did just that. I signed up for any club that I merely had an interest in and really pushed myself to find the organizations that we’re best for me. Within the first couple of weeks, I have gotten involved in two organizations that I still remain in as a senior and have loved every moment of it. As a first-generation student, these on-campus involvements made it easier to transition as I had friends to go through the process with, someone to ask questions to, and a strong support system. The Promising Futures Program (PFP) is a program specifically for first-generation students. PFP does a really good job of creating a community for first-generation students alongside connecting students with the resources they may need. The staff and members of the program are all helpful and want to ensure success for all students with an emphasis on the community! Getting involved and really pushing yourself is what I have used as my two guiding pillars and it has been applicable in every aspect of my time at Chapman. Whether it be academics, relationships with professors and staff, on-campus involvements, etc. I have always found a way to get involved and continue pushing myself to continue growing and really getting the most out of my Chapman experience. Do not be afraid of what’s to come, get excited! There are so many amazing things that Chapman has to offer and your peers and faculty/ staff will definitely be able to help. There will always be someone that can help you with whatever you need, make sure to use your resources, ask questions, and never hesitate to ask for help. At Chapman, I have found opportunities for success, growth professionally and personally, and an amazingly supportive community.


Charlene Chai, Class of '23

Hi, I am Charlene, and I am a first-generation college student. I began my college journey last year, and although I was quite terrified of the future, I must say attending college has to be one of the greatest experiences in my life so far. 

As a first-generation college student, it was pretty difficult to hear my friends talk about their parents who earned a college degree. It’s not as if I was bullied or anything like that, but to a certain degree (pun intended) I felt ashamed about my background. Unfortunately, I oftentimes felt that I had to prove myself and my worth. The entire college experience felt especially daunting at first because my father, who never got to finish college because his home country was experiencing political reconstruction, and my mother, whose family simply could not afford the college expenses, were not able to guide me through this journey. Coming from a low-income family, I ended up joking about my financial and first-generation status most of the time. "You guys have to pay for your school lunch? Ha, I get mine for free!" I didn't look down on my hardworking parents, but in many ways, I felt as if I had to make up for the fact that I was at some sort of "disadvantage”. And that was just one of the many internal struggles I went through as I was preparing to enter college for the first time. 


When I received my award letter alongside a paper calculating the estimated cost of my tuition, I swear I saw stars and almost had a panic attack. My award letter was looking pretty good -- the estimated cost of my tuition, not so much. I remember thinking that the only way I would ever be able to cover this amount of money is if I work multiple jobs, maybe sell one of my kidneys, and get chased by loan sharks for the rest of my life. A moment of panic later, I realized that the estimated cost included living expenses as well as other academic costs that were already covered by grants and scholarships. But in that moment of panic, I felt so unsure and my academic future felt so unstable. I questioned whether pursuing higher education was the right move, whether I will graduate or not, and if I would regret going to college. 

Quite honestly, I think I went to college because I felt that it was my parents' expectations. My parents always insisted that I go to college so that I could "lead a better life in the future." But upon entering college, I realized that I wasn't alone in this entire process.  I was far from alone, although it may have definitely felt like that at first. There are so many people out there that experienced the same situation and are not able to continue their education past high school. -- and for the first time, I felt lucky. There are so many resources on and off-campus to advise and provide a sense of support -- and for that, I felt relieved. I felt grateful that I was able to get an opportunity to continue seeking out the kind of person I wish to be and the endless possibilities of what I will be able to do in the future. 

As time passed and with the overwhelming support of my parents, I realized that being a first-generation student isn’t a “label” or a sad "disadvantage" as I had perceived it to be. It was an opportunity and a chance to show that my background doesn’t determine the person I have the potential to be! My parents work hard to send me to college so that not one opportunity for a better future was to be missed. I seek to put my message out there for other first-generation college students that feel unsure about the future: Yes, the college experience is quite frankly terrifying at first and I have never taken out so much money in loans, but I would not change the experiences and personal growth that I have undergone as a first-generation college student to get to this point. 


Wendy Medina Herrera, Class of '23

My first-gen experience has been quite the learning experience. My parents are from Mexico and immigrated here in their 20s, and they went straight into the workforce. Ever since I was a kid, I would translate a lot of documents and parent/teacher conferences and basically anything that was in English since my parents only knew Spanish. I think a lot of children of immigrants can relate. My parent's English has gotten better, but even now, I still translate things for them. I learned how to be independent quickly. Although they had no clue what college really was, they knew that it was my best chance at moving forward and succeeding. I learned a lot on my own like how to apply to college, and all the financial things, and registering for classes, all that jazz. I took care of it mostly on my own - rarely did I ask them for help because I knew they wouldn’t know. At times it was frustrating, however, my parents would always say words of encouragement (échale ganas, ponte las pilas, tu lo puedes hacer). I didn’t realize “first-gen” was a thing until I applied. And then so, I didn’t really understand what it meant until I got to Chapman. I realized that having parents who went to college is a privilege, one I don’t have. For a while, I felt like I didn’t belong or that I‘m just a statistic destined to fail. The imposter syndrome is real. Thanks to First Gen Ambassador’s, I’ve made a lot of first-gen friends who understand where I come from and helped me not feel this way. I am proud to be a first-generation student. I want all first-generation students to know that you belong here. You worked hard for this moment and never ever doubt that. You earned it, and I am proud of you :)

225 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page