top of page

Advice to My First Year Self

Written by Hannah Schimdt, Health Science Major, Class of 2019


Dear First Year Self,

It feels like just yesterday you were patiently waiting to hear who your roommate was going to be and worrying about making friends once you got to school. I am happy to report that you had an awesome roommate and made lots of friends who you are still connected with today! And as a side note, you will continue making friends well into your senior year because you are constantly meeting new people. However, college is not always easy but I am hoping that some of this advice will help to make it the most smooth transition. College is supposed to be fun and a time to learn both inside and outside the classroom; therefore, reflecting on my last three years, here is some things I wish I had known sooner.


GO TO OFFICE HOURS AND SI SESSIONS! Your professors are there to help you learn and want you to succeed. Not all subjects you are going to understand right away and that’s ok! However, do not wait until the last minute to get help. Additionally, professors can be great resources later on down the line for references, job offers, etc. The supplemental instructors have been a crucial part of my success at Chapman as well. They are students who truly understand the material and can give tips and tricks to help you truly master the information.


Take advantage of the living learning communities. Living learning communities are the on campus living areas in which you are strategically placed with people who have the same or similar majors as you. Not only did I meet some of my closest friends in my dorm but found study buddies who have helped me through my rigorous classes the last few years. Having a friend in the same class not only makes it easier to study but more fun!


Don’t use social media as a determinant of how well college is going for you. With social media being so present in our times, it can be difficult to tell what is true and what is fake. Many times I found myself questioning if I was doing college “right” based on the photos that my friends from home were posting. It can be hard to get caught up in this; however, you have to remember that people are really only going to post the uplifting and fun things happening in their lives on their social media. With that being said, it’s ok to feel homesick, stressed out during midterms, or to feel lonely at different points throughout the year but remember to rely on your support system at school to get you through the tougher times.  


Take advantage of everything Orange and the surrounding area has to offer. Chapman is located in one of the most ideal places in Southern California being an hour from Los Angeles, 30 minutes from the ocean, and 10 minutes from Disneyland. However, if you are feeling up for an adventure but do not want to go far you can take a walk in downtown Orange to find delicious food and fun desserts.


Call your family. I’m sure you’ve already heard that you should call your parents at least once a week, but don’t forget to call your grandparents, aunts/uncles, or other people from home that care deeply about you. Leaving home for the first time can be difficult, but it may also be hard for those that love and care about you at home.


Wash your hands. Now this may seem a bit silly but trust me on this one! You are constantly surrounded by people and there are germs everywhere. Stock up on your hand sanitizer and use it. You’ll thank me later. 😊


Get to know your Resident Advisors and Orientation Leaders. These are the students on the campus who are involved in a variety of different organizations, know all the resources Chapman has to offer, and have YOUR best interest in mind. With that being said, go to all the meetings with your Orientation Leaders and try and attend as many of your Resident Advisor’s programs as possible. By doing so, you will meet new people, learn about different opportunities to get involved on campus, and build a community within Chapman. Here’s a little story: I kept in touch with one of my Orientation Leaders and she ended up getting me a job which I absolutely love!


Have fun! This is a new time in your life so get involved in organizations that interest you whether that be Greek life, UPB, or other clubs/organizations. Go on adventures with your new friends and experience what this new area of the world has to offer you. College only last four years and trust me it goes by quick so enjoy every minute of it!


Hopefully some of this advice is helpful! You’re going to love Chapman and all it has to offer!


All my Love,

Hannah

232 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page